How I Would Advertise My Short Film

The marketing plan for my short film would be to create several teaser trailers, social media accounts and film posters.

The Teaser Trailers

I would release 2 teaser trailers for my short film, these would be released every 3 days and would be around 10 seconds long. The first would be based around my main characters obsession with her phone. I would also include a voice over to make the visuals been shown make sense and I would also use a fair bit of the fading to black technique to keep my audience on edge and interested in my short film. This would be the equilibrium of sorts for the teaser trailers that I would release.

The second and last of my teaser trailers would show the disruption proposed to my main character and this will show some of the narrative of my short film. This will also get the viewer putting themselves into my main characters mind frame therefore creating a bond between my short film and it’s target audience. For example, for James Bond Sceptre they released a teaser trailer which showed just enough details to get the target audience hooked. The only difference in mine would be that I released an additional one.

Social Media Accounts

The idea behind the social media accounts is that there would a social media account (So Twitter/Facebook) for each of my characters. This would allow me to bring them to life and so they could interact with my target audience. I would also be able to release my teaser trailers through these social media accounts. I also intend to portray the social media accounts through my characters perspectives because it allows the target audience to connect with the character and therefore enticing them into viewing the short film. Tony Stark from Iron Man is a good example. Screenshot_2016-01-20-11-26-01.png Film Posters

The film posters is a very common way off promoting films but in my experience of been a film enthusiast I believe just sticking up film posters anywhere is a pointless idea. So I plan to release my film posters in certain locations where I’m certain it will grab the attention of my target audience and include the phrase “Show me on Social Media” so that it gets widespread coverage, also when you do put it on social media you’ll be given the film poster as a free background cover. By the way my target audience is that of the teenage age range to that of around the parent age of 55 tops. The locations I would be looking to release my film posters would be at schools, youth groups, social media accounts of popular TV channels (MTV for example), village halls, parents evening etc etc. I would also promote my film posters at town centers by projecting an image of the film poster onto large buildings/walls. This would then catch the target audiences eye as it’s an unusual way of promoting film posters.

4822465514_a178f9d435_b.jpg

 

Leave a comment